Bring Me the Horizon


Who Sounds like Bring Me the Horizon?

Finding artists similar to Bring Me the Horizon can pose a challenge, since bands like the British metalcore (or lately, pop-rock) group are few and far between. Over the course of their musical career, they have explored deathcore, metalcore, electronic, alt-rock, and pop genres.

If You Like Bring Me the Horizon, You May Likeā€¦
Early albums, written and recorded when the band members were in their late teens and early twenties, seethed with dark, heavy rhythms and lyrics, invoking the sounds of deathcore and metalcore bands like Job for a Cowboy, Whitechapel, and Hatebreed.

Bands that sound like Bring Me the Horizon’s early albums also include:

  • Slipknot
  • Suicide Silence
  • Norma Jean

More recently, other bands like Bring Me the Horizon have come to include:

  • Linkin Park
  • Muse
  • Explosions in the Sky

Even pop acts like Justin Bieber and One Direction have been compared to Bring Me the Horizon’s newer albums.


Bring Me the Horizon is a British rock group hailing from Sheffield, England. The band has evolved from their angsty deathcore roots in the early 2000s toward a more positive, pop-like sound while still retaining a hardcore foundation. Although their debut album, Count Your Blessings, garnered a lukewarm reception from critics, the band has gone on to earn several awards for their music and produce ever more successful records and songs.

The source material for most of their albums comes from singer Oli Sykes’ personal life, while Lee Malia, Matt Kean, Matt Nicholls, and Jordan Fish provide lead guitar, bass, drums, and keyboard, respectively. Aside from being the band’s lead singer and head songwriter, Sykes also owns Drop Dead clothing company.

Influenced by bands like Metallica and Limp Bizket, Malia’s lead guitar is driven by simple, one-string riffs and chugging rhythms. Kean and Nicholls have been with the band since the beginning, while keyboardist Fish joined in 2012 and significantly influenced the band’s later albums. Past members of the band include former rhythm guitarists Curtis Ward and Jona Weinhofen.


In 2004, Sykes, Malia, Keane, and Nichols teamed up with guitarist Curtis Ward to form Bring Me the Horizon, taking their name from the final line of the film Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl. Their initial debut was a love letter to the essentials of deathcore: heavy chugging rhythms, technical guitar riffs, growling and howling vocals, dark lyrics, and plenty of mosh-friendly breakdowns.

It wasn’t until the band’s third studio album in 2013, There is a Hell, Believe Me I’ve Seen It. There is a Heaven, Let’s Keep It a Secret, that they found critical success. By experimenting with other musical styles such as electronic, pop, and symphonic metal, Bring Me the Horizon began to break away from the metalcore mold in favor of defining their own unique sound.

Their later releases, Sempiternal and That’s The Spirit, continued transitioning away from their original heavy metalcore sound, incorporating diverse compositions and relying more and more on electronic and pop rock elements.


Bring Me the Horizon started off as a standard deathcore band. As of their 2015 release That’s The Spirit, they have almost completely broken from those metal roots in favor of a more radio-friendly, hardcore pop-rock sound similar to bands like Muse or Linkin Park.

Artists like Bring Me the Horizon, especially in their earlier metalcore era, tend to favor dark lyrics, like the song “Death Breath” from the album Suicide Season: “I’d kill for the sun to never rise again./ Yeah! I’d do anything oh anything. So tie a rope around my neck, pull it tight till it breaks.” Undertones of the band’s chugging, bass-heavy guitar riffs and technical solos can still be heard in their later work.

Many tracks on Sempiternal and That’s the Spirit prominently feature Malia’s distinctive, hard-hitting sound woven within layers of symphonic instruments, choral voices, and electronic mixing. Bring Me the Horizon has also collaborated with artists from other genres on several albums, most notably Sam Carter, the vocalist of Architects, on Suicide Season and Canadian singer-songwriter Lights on There Is a Hell, Believe Me I’ve Seen It. There Is a Heaven, Let’s Keep It a Secret.


  • Count Your Blessings (2006) – Bring Me the Horizon’s first release, this album features all the essential elements of the deathcore genre, yet was criticized for falling short and lacking originality. Despite being universally panned by critics, it helped the band gain popularity on the hardcore metal scene.
  • Suicide Season (2008) – The band’s second release ventures away from the angst-filled tones of their debut album while remaining strictly metalcore. Taking the time to write the album in seclusion, away from the distractions of city life, allowed Suicide Season to become a success.
  • There Is a Hell, Believe Me I’ve Seen It. There Is a Heaven, Let’s Keep It a Secret (2010) – Showing a marked improvement in the band’s musicianship, this album experiments with symphonic and electronic sounds. Jona Weinhofen joined Bring Me the Horizon to provide rhythm guitar for the album, which climbed the charts in the U.K., U.S., Canada, Germany, Sweden, and Australia.
  • Sempiternal (2013) – The band continued to experiment with new sounds on their fourth studio album, which debuted to critical acclaim, reaching No. 3 on the U.K. charts and No. 11 in the U.S. The tracks “Can You Feel My Heart,” “Sleepwalking,” “Go to Hell for Heaven’s Sake,” and “Shadow Moses” were released as singles, showcasing the band’s newfound electronic, ambient, and hardcore pop influences along with their talents in hardcore rock and metal. This is their last album that truly falls within the metalcore genre.
  • That’s the Spirit (2015) – A broad departure from the band’s metalcore roots, That’s the Spirit offers a somewhat unique blend of electronic rock, alternative metal, and pop. The album earned universal praise from critics and topped music charts around the world. The shift toward upbeat, positive lyrics coincided with lead singer Sykes’ recovery from drug addiction and the influence of keyboardist Fish, who served as the producer of the album. The singles “Happy Song,” “Throne,” and “True Friends” showcase Bring Me the Horizon’s catchy new pop-inspired style.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.